Henry Smith Awarded 17th Annual Brigham-Kanner Prize

Henry Smith Awarded 17th Annual Brigham-Kanner Prize

The William & Mary Law School Property Rights Project has named Henry E. Smith of Harvard Law School as the recipient of the 2020 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize.  

The Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize is named in honor of the lifetime contributions to property rights of Toby Prince Brigham, founding partner of Brigham Moore, and Gideon Kanner, professor of law emeritus at Loyola Law School in Los Angeles. The prize is presented annually to a scholar, practitioner or jurist whose work affirms the fundamental importance of property rights.  

Professor Smith directs the Project on the Foundations of Private Law at Harvard Law School. When he joined the Harvard faculty in 2008, then Harvard Law Dean, and current U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice, Elena Kagan praised him as “one of the nation’s leading lights in the crucial fields of property and intellectual property,” and one whose “scholarship is as original as it is rigorous, as brilliantly interdisciplinary as it is deeply rooted in law.”  

Professor Smith was honored during the project’s 17th annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference, held online on Oct. 1-2.  

Learn more here.   

Featured Members